Linden Hall graduates 54, the largest class in its history

By on May 29, 2019

Linden Hall School for Girls graduated the largest class in its 273-year history on Friday, May 24, as 54 girls received their diplomas in a morning ceremony at the Lititz Moravian Church.

The valedictorian was Elaine Li of Beijing, China, and the salutatorian was Tahrington Phillips of Wrightsville, who also received the Linden Hall Medal at commencement. Elaine will attend Barnard College of Columbia University in the fall. Tahrington will attend Washington & Lee University, where she was awarded the Johnson Scholarship.

Linden Hall School for Girls marked the commencement of 54 seniors — the largest class in its 273-year history, on Friday, May 24.

Linden Hall Head of School Michael Waylett, and Assistant Head of School for Academics Elizabeth Teske, led the faculty and staff into the 2019 graduation ceremony. Photos by Dick Wanner.


Salutatorian Tahrington Phillips (left) and Valedictorian Elaine Li led their fellow Class of 2019 seniors into the graduation ceremony.

In her emotional remarks to the Linden Hall class of 2019, Heather Wilson, class of 1985, told the graduating seniors that she could hardly wait to vote for one of them. For president. Then she wept.

A bell choir composed of Linden Hall Class of 2019 seniors rang in a new chapter in the lives of their classmates.


Linden Hall’s 2019 Salutatorian, Tahrington Phillips, addressed her classmates and a full house of faculty, administrators, parents and friends during graduation ceremonies in the sanctuary of the Lititz Moravian Church on May 24.

Elaine spoke about her family’s journey out of poverty and illiteracy in China, and how fortunate she and her fellow graduates are to have experienced a Linden Hall education, as so many children around the world do not have this opportunity.

Tahri described her decision to run for student council president, and how being in that role taught her confidence when she was unsure of what she was doing:

“I put a smile on my face and pretended I knew what was going on, not because anyone told me to do it, but because I was too embarrassed to admit that I was confused,” she said. “Honestly, doing that taught me so much about confidence and leadership. I learned that everyone fakes their confidence sometimes. I learned that it’s not always about truly being self-assured, but acting confident while you learn, grow, and become your courageous self.”

The Class of 2019
Catherine Chen
Maggie Chen
Yiyang Chen
Marrakech Cunliffe
Cassie Du
Leslie Fan
Lulu Guo
Chloe Hain
Tyrianne Harris
McKenna Hayden
Kinsey Hogan
Penny Hu
Calista Jenkins
Jane Jiang
Rachel Jung
Rachel Kauffman
Gloria Koch
Jeren Konak
June Koo
Victoria Kreider
Kaitlyn Leid
Chen Li
Laura Li
Elaine Li
Sabrina Lim
Lynne Lin
Ashley Liu
Phoebe Look
Emma Loudermilk
Julianna Mack
Oluwatobi Makinde
Anya Miller
Anika Monteforte
Minh Anh Ngo
Azaria Nyamekye
Fatima Pate
Tahrington Phillips
Lourdes Posadas
Fiona Qin
Madison Rice
Hetta Saatman
Sophia Sha
Kierstyn Stevens
Epiphany Stoltzfus
Uyen Tran
Kaylie Truong
Helen Vo
Chi Vu
Tina Wu
Liz Xiao
Jane Yan
Emily Zhang
Claudia Zhao
Jennifer Zhu

They plan to attend the following colleges and universities: Albright College; Augustana College; Barnard College; Baylor University; Boston College; Bucknell University; California State University, Long Beach; Clemson University; College of William & Mary; Cornell University; Delaware Valley University; Drexel University; Fordham University; Franklin & Marshall College; Hofstra University; Maryland Institute College of Art; Misericordia University; New York University (2); Northeastern University; Pennsylvania State University; Point Park University; Pratt Institute; Purdue University; Rutgers University-New Brunswick (2); Saint Joseph’s University; Saint Leo University; School of the Art Institute of Chicago; School of Visual Arts (2); Simmons University; Suffolk University; Temple University; The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; University of California, Santa Barbara; University of Illinois at Chicago; University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (2); University of Pennsylvania; University of Pittsburgh; University of Richmond; University of Rochester; University of South Carolina; University of Washington, Seattle (2); University of Washington, Tacoma; University of Wisconsin, Madison; Washington and Jefferson College; Washington and Lee University; Wesleyan University; West Virginia University; and Yale University.

At its annual Awards Ceremony on Thursday afternoon, Linden Hall honored students in all grades who excelled in academic, artistic, and community service endeavors. The senior awards included:
Head of School Award – Penny Hu
Spirit of Linden Hall Award – Anika Monteforte
English Medal – Tahrington Phillips
Math Medal – Cassie Du
History Medal – Emma Loudermilk
Science Medal – Jeren Konak
World Language Medal – Anya Miller
Arts Medal – Leslie Fan
Lindy Award (for theater) – Julianna Mack and Anika Monteforte
Myrtle Eckert Award (for music) – Tahrington Phillips
Anneliese Vidal Award (for photography) – Rachel Jung
Mimi Haubner Activities Award – Hetta Saatman
PIAA Sportsmanship Award – Julianna Mack
Model United Nations Award – Julianna Mack
Publications Award – Elaine Li
Lancaster Optimist Award – Kinsey Hogan
U.S Figure Skating Award – Jeren Konak

Linden Hall also presented Legend Awards to seniors who have attended Linden Hall since 5th grade (which was discontinued after this class). Recipients were: Chloe Hain, Rachel Kauffman, and Tahrington Phillips; and since 6th grade: Emma Laudermilk, Tobi Makinde, and Anya Miller.

About Cory Van Brookhoven

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *