Linden Hall graduates 28 to end its 272nd year

By on May 30, 2018


Linden Hall graduated 28 young women May 25 at the conclusion of its 272nd academic year. The traditional procession of students in white and faculty in academic regalia led the seniors into the Lititz Moravian Church at 10:30 a.m. for Commencement.

Linden Hall’s 2018 valedictorian, Tyler Mandrell of Lititz, who will attend the University of Chicago and compete on its Division III swimming and diving team, spoke about focusing on the present.

“The gift of a Linden Hall education goes beyond the diploma we are about to receive,” said Mandrell in her address. “It is the confidence in our ideas, the ability to organize copious amounts of work, and the lifelong relationships we have made. For that, we are forever grateful.”

The salutatorian, Christie Cai of Hong Kong, China, spoke about being your own true self. She plans to study economics at the University of California, Berkeley.

Ava Warfel of Lancaster was awarded the Linden Hall Medal, the highest individual award bestowed by the school. For this honor, the faculty chooses a student who best exemplifies the school’s values: scholarly achievement, character development, cultural awareness, and physical wellness. As such, the student honored with this award best embodies what it means to be “a Linden Hall girl.”

The Spirit of Linden Hall award was presented at Thursday’s Awards Ceremony to Delaney Redford, Wrightstown, N.J., who was chosen by faculty and staff as best representing the school’s spirit and the qualities described in Linden Hall’s statement of community: truthful, fair, and compassionate; respectful; and a contributor to her school and community.

The Commencement ceremony featured remarks by Head of School Michael E. Waylett and Board Chair Heather Wilson, the presentation of diplomas by Waylett and Assistant Head of School for Academics Elizabeth Teske, and English teacher Ken Trani as the graduation speaker.

Salutatorian (left) Christie Cai, and Valedictorian Tyler Mandrell, led the procession of graduates on May 25. (Photos submitted by Linden Hall / and by Dick Wanner)

Additional senior awards given by Linden Hall included: the English Medal to Meredith Longer, the History Medal to Christie Cai, the Math Medal to . Tyler Mandrell, the Science Medal to Rachel Ho, the World Language Medal to Ava Warfel, the Lindy Award for drama to Delaney Redford, the Myrtle Eckert Award for music to Seraphina Thorpe, the Bender Memorial Award for art to Andrea Brogunier, the Arts Medal to Delaney Redford, and the Mimi Haubner Activities Award to Seraphina Thorpe. The Head of School Award was presented to Des’ree McCloud.

Musical performances at Commencement included “Libertango” (Pizzolla) performed by flutist Anna Quiros and saxophonist Sarah Quiros, “Seaweed Dance” (Du) performed by pianist Laura Li, “If You Could Hear My Voice” (Papoulis) sung by the Linden Hall choir, and “Land of Hope and Glory” (Elgar), played by the Linden Hall orchestra.

Linden Hall’s Commencement festivities included Thursday’s awards ceremony, senior dinner and a dinner celebration for grades 6 through 11, followed by the Baccalaureate service and lantern walk, in which seniors “pass the torch” to juniors in a ceremony around the fountain.

Linden Hall’s Class of 2018

Linden Hall’s 2018 graduates

Manal Abbas*

Andrea Rachel Brogunier

Alissa Marie Brossman

Christie Cai*

Harleen Chaudhary

Simone Chen*

Ruby Cheung

Chiebuka Nancy Chioke*

Nicole Marie Farnet

Sally Hao

Rachel Ho

Selena Hu

Tara Le

Bernice Li*

Aria Li*

Cassie Lin

Meredith Longer*

Tyler Rose Mandrell*

Des’ree Anesha Marie McCloud

Kiera Brigid McGrath*

Stephanie Qian

Delaney Christine Redford*

Esther Shen

Lena Rose Swartzentruber

Seraphina Julia Thorpe*

Ava Evangeline Warfel*

Yupel Yeshi

Ivy Yin

* National Honor Society member

The graduates are attending 27 different selective four-year colleges and universities, including, but not limited to: American University; Boston University; Elizabethtown College; Fordham University; Franklin & Marshall College; Goucher College; The College of Wooster; The New School – Parsons School of Design; The Ohio State University; University of New Orleans; and University of Toronto.

Additionally, on Friday morning, 26 Linden Hall eighth graders participated in the Middle School Promotion Ceremony, which incorporated personal statements from each girl and a student speaker, Rehema Karuri of Edison, N.J.

The promoted eighth graders are: Sofia Almada Fernandez, Genevieve Anderson, Danielle Archer, Manasbi Bista, Jesalyn Burleson, Naiyana Camara, Chujie Lucy Cao, Sheryl Cheung, Morgan Christman, Jimena Cuevas Urrea, Antonieta Fernandez, Sofya Kapkova, Rehema Karuri, Sophia Lama, Valentina Liu, Sophie Marisi, Valeria Martinez Torres, Sydney McMillin, Jiefei Elaine Meng, Lillie Mohn, Adel Mudrova, Madeline Radovic, Yuet Ki Abby Tang, Zhiqian Isa Wang, Amanda Wolfe and Sumin Iris Yoon.

More information is available at

Des’ree McCloud, winner of The Head of School Award, gets a congratulatory hug.


 Ava Warfel (left) Linden Hall Medal winner and Head of School Michael Waylett.


Marty Sullivan works in Lancaster, lives in York and takes his pipes to wherever he’s invited, which he was to Linden Hall’s graduation ceremonies on Saturday.


About mhunnefield

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *