Linden Hall graduates 41; Yuengling is valedictorian

By on June 1, 2016
Linden Hall’s Class of 2016

Linden Hall’s Class of 2016

Linden Hall School for Girls saw 41 graduates from the Class of 2016 receive diplomas at a ceremony held at Lititz Moravian Church on May 27.

The class Valedictorian was five-day boarder Erika Yuengling, from Orwigsburg.

Her speech was about seeking truth. She spoke about how her mindset changed at some point throughout her time at Linden Hall. She would always go home on weekends and come back to Linden Hall on Sundays. At some point she started to say that she was going to her parents house on Fridays and began to think of Linden Hall as her home. Erika’s grandmother also attended Linden Hall.

Valedictorian Erika Yeungling

Valedictorian Erika Yeungling

“We are dangling on the edge of something amazing, but something chaotic,” Yuengling, said.

She also quoted A.A. Milne at the end of her speech: “If ever there is a tomorrow when we’re not together… there is something you must always remember. You are braver than you believe, stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think. But the most important thing is, even if we’re apart… I’ll always be with you.”

Erika plans to double major in biology and computer science. Erika participated in Model UN as part of the secretariat, she was a residential prefect, and a member of the National Honor Society.

Salutatorian Khrystyna Babenko

Salutatorian Khrystyna Babenko

The class salutatorian was Khrystyna Babenko, a day student from Lititz. Her speech was about finding herself at Linden Hall. She urged her fellow classmates to embrace new experiences with an open mind.

“Always remember what this school has given you because ultimately it has made you who you are today,” Babenko said.

Khrystyna was originally born in the Ukraine but spent most of her life in Georgia before moving to Lititz during her freshman year.

The guest speaker was Wilson College President and Linden Hall alumna, Dr. Barbara K. Mistick.

Dr. Barbara K. Mistick

Dr. Barbara K. Mistick

The Linden Hall Medal was awarded to Aurakoch “Fern” Harnpramakkul, of Bangkok, Thailand. The Linden Hall Medal is awarded to the girl who most embodies the mission statement of the school. Fern was the vice-president of the student council, a director for LHTV, a member of the handbell choir, and president of the International Club. She will go on to college to study neuroscience and minor in psychology.

The senior class, listed alphabetically, is comprised of: Layo Adewole; Khrystyna Babenko; Kirstin Brown; YiYan (Rachel) Cai; Tin Nok (Christina) Chan; Kunyu (Lina) Chen; Xumsel (Xumsei) Chhodon; Olivia Crimbly; Ewurakua (Rae) Dawson-Amoah; Sarah Edmunds; Zixian (Maggie) Gong; Liza Graybill; Aurakoch (Bi-Fern) Harnpramukkul; Jenny Kim; Seung Yeun (Kelly) Lee; Leofsky; Hannah Bingqing (Stephanie) Li; Huanyi (Linda) Li; Peiyuan (Jenny) Li; Mi (Amy) Lin; Shuying (Cindy) Lin; Yi (Ollie) Lin; Mengqi (Liz) Liu; Muxin (Halleigh) Liu; Oluwafeyikemi (Feyi) Makinde; Monica Mena-Elorduy; Yeji (Ellen) Moon; Kassidy Moragne; Yidan (Sarah)Sun; Anam (Anam)Syed; Dilesha Tanna; Ruby Lou Taylor; Megan Thomas; Chen (Sisy) Wang; Fangmei (Sunny) Wang; Yu (Alice) Wang; Anna Wassenberg; Shuk Yee (Irena) Wong; Erika Yuengling; Jiarui (Nina) Zhou; and Ningge (Ashley) Zhu.

The graduates have been accepted at a number of prestigious post-secondary schools, among them: Michigan State; Goucher College; Emery Riddle Aeronautical University; Rutgers University; Purdue University; School of the Art Institute of Chicago; Berkeley College of Music; Pennsylvania State University; Wentworth Institute of Technology; and Sarah Lawrence College.

Photos by Stan Hall.

About digital editor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *