Warwick grad Adams elected county’s first female DA

By on November 6, 2019

Democrat David R. Brubaker wins Lititz Borough Council seat by a slim 7-vote margin over Scott Hain

“Off-year” general elections typically don’t yield great voter turnout, afford many contested races, or unexpected outcomes, but the results from Tuesday’s polls proved historic.

For starters, Republican Heather Adams made history Tuesday by thumping her Democratic opponent Hobie Crystle to become the first female Lancaster County District Attorney.

“I am so honored that the voters have placed their trust in me to be the next district attorney of Lancaster County,” she said Wednesday morning.

Closer to home, in In Lititz, where Democrats make up only 33% of registered voters, Democrat David R. Brubaker won by a slim 7-vote margin to defeat Scott Hain for a Lititz Borough Council seat in Ward One.

Hain’s name remained on the ballot despite his resignation in September following his move outside Ward One area.

In Akron, former Republican and the current president of Akron Borough Council, John Williamson’s decision to run as a Democrat proved an unwise move as he lost his bid for another 4-year term on council.

Newly elected District Attorney Heather Adams arrived to vote at Lancaster Evangelical Free Church on Tuesday. Adams, 48, is a Lititz native and Warwick High School graduate, who succeeds the current District Attorney Craig Stedman, who won the race for Commons Pleas Court Judge.

Akron, where Democrats make up less than one in four registered voters, Republicans winning borough council seats included Nathan Imhoff, Justin Gehman, and Paul K. Swangren.

Also, Manheim Township, dominated for years by the GOP, flipped to blue Tuesday night as Democratic challengers overtook incumbent Republican commissioners.

Franklin & Marshall College professor Allison Troy and part-time consultant Barry Kauffman beat board president Al Kling, 77, and commissioner Dave Heck, 65.
Judging from early voting results voter turnout appears to have topped expectations at nearly 27%.

Adams, a Lititz native and Warwick High School graduate, succeeds the current District Attorney Craig Stedman, who won the race for Commons Pleas Court Judge.

A Millersville graduate, Adams is a former state and county prosecutor and currently an attorney with a private Lancaster-based firm. She worked 12 years in the Pennsylvania Attorney General’s office and spent more than three years as a prosecutor in the York County DA’s office.

New Lancaster County Prothonotary Andrew Spade, speaks to the crowd during the Republican party of Lancaster County election night party. Photo by Chris Knight.

“I will work dutifully to seek justice and to ensure the safety of the county we are proud to call home. Thank you Lancaster County,” Adams said. Also Tuesday, five Republicans won spots on Warwick School Board. They include three incumbents, Nelson Peters, Todd Rucci, and Lisa Miller, along with Leslie Penkunas and C. Edward Browne.

Other Republicans winning seats on Lititz Borough Council are Shane Weaver, from Ward Two; and Andy Greiner, Ward Three.
Republicans Stephen Lee in the 1st Ward and Ken Mobley in the 2nd Ward won 2-year terms on council. Mobley was sworn into office in August after being selected to temporarily fill John Bear’s remaining term.

District Ttorney candidate Heather Adams, with her son Tucker Brumbaugh, 7, play a game on the tablet, during the Republican party of Lancaster County election night party at the Eden Resort and Suites Tuesday November 5, 2019. Chris Knight photo.

GOP incumbent Herb Flosdorf won a 6-year seat on the Warwick Township Board of Supervisors, while two, 4-year seats on the board were won by Republicans Kelly Gutshall and Jeffrey Tennis.
Republican Brandon Judy won the race for Warwick Township auditor.

In state races of note, former Warwick Township Supervisor Andy Spade won as a Republican in the race for county prothonotary. Also, Democratic incumbent Craig Lehman and Republican Josh Parsons, also an incumbent, were reelected to the Lancaster County Board of Commissioners.

Other unopposed GOP winners included Amber L. Martin for the Lancaster County treasurer; Anne L. Cooper, Lancaster County Register of Wills; Chris Leppler for Lancaster County Sheriff; and Jackie Pfursich as Clerk of the Court of Common Pleas.

Patrick Burns is news editor for The Lititz Record Express. He welcomes your questions and comments and can be reached at pburns.eph@lnpnews.com or at 717-721-4455 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *