• LR20160211_cruisecouple2
    Troubled waters: Lititz families recount perilous cruise

    What was supposed to be a relaxing getaway for a couple Lititz families quickly turned to a situation they will never forget when the Royal Caribbean cruise ship they were on was forced back to New Jersey...

    • Posted February 10, 2016
    • 2
  • LR20160204_Chilangos2
    Downtown diversity

    New Mexican restaurant is a great addition to the Lititz culinary experience Downtown Lititz has its share of unique food choices, but we could always use a few more. Right now there’s a lot of buzz about...

    • Posted February 3, 2016
    • 0
  • LR Wilbur photo Jan 22, 201
    A bittersweet goodbye to our beloved chocolate factory

    History of an icon The story of Wilbur Chocolate originally began in Philadelphia in 1865, when Henry Oscar Wilbur entered into a candy making partnership with Samuel Croft. As Croft, Wilbur & Company, they primarily produced hard...

    • Posted January 28, 2016
    • 1
  • One hundred years ago, Lititz borough placed its first community Christmas tree at the Roebuck Memorial Fountain in the square. Pictured are (front row, left to right) John Ely and Milfred Marks, (back row, l-r) Sam Steffy and Harvey Seaber, who organized and constructed the display.
    A Toast to 1915 and a holiday roast from Lutz’s butcher shop

    How was the Christmas season celebrated exactly 100 years ago in Lititz? Well grab a mug of hot cocoa, select a cozy spot by the fireplace, and close your eyes and join me as we take a...

    • Posted December 22, 2015
    • 0
  • LR20151119_JordanBros1
    Jordanmania! — Jordan Brothers exhibit opens Nov. 22

    They entertained fans from all over the world, and now they will have an exhibit space dedicated to them in a Pennsylvania museum. They are the Jordan Brothers from Frackville, and no doubt, many remember their hit...

    • Posted November 18, 2015
    • 0
  • LR20151015_idealcanningtoma
    Less than Ideal: A brief history of Rothsville’s auspicious canning company

    What began as a promising local business venture more than a century ago sadly fell to financial ruin in just a few short years. That operation was the Ideal Canning Company of Rothsville. The factory was organized...

    • Posted October 16, 2015
    • 0
  • LR20150924_Hen&Dave2
    New Life for an Old Schwinn

    A familiar Schwinn bicycle from a long gone Lititz shop has been recently restored to like-new condition, thanks to the efforts of a Brickerville man. When area resident Terry May first noticed that the bike was for...

    • Posted September 23, 2015
    • 0
  • Bill and Kim Martin are breathing new life into an old brick factory building on North Lane.
    What’s New on North Lane?

    “What’s old is new again” is an apt sentiment for ongoing restorations at an old industrial building at 325 North Lane. Erected in the early 1900s, this charming brick structure was once a flourishing factory. A Lititz...

    • Posted August 26, 2015
    • 2
  • Maureen McEvoy (aka Sue Shard) was the cute marketing smile behind Wilbur-Suchard candy bars in 1946. (photo from the Sketch Mearig Collection)
    Sue Shard’s sweet success

    The girl who championed Lititz’s candy bar What’s it like to be the face of Wilbur-Suchard Chocolate Company and the host of a WLAN radio show? Just ask Maureen McEvoy-Farrell. In 1946, at age 12, she was...

    • Posted July 8, 2015
    • 0
  • This image of passenger pigeons was
published in Lititz’s 1956 bicentennial
book along with Beck’s eye-witness account.
    Passenger pigeons once flocked to Lititz

    Almost 170 years ago, two young boys from Lititz had the honor of witnessing, and having an accurate account of, one of the final great flights of a now extinct bird — the passenger pigeon. Also called the...

    • Posted June 4, 2015
    • 0